Maps of Peru

Peru - The Country

Official Name: República del Perú (Republic of Peru)
Area: 1'285,215 square kilometers
Population: 28'220,764

Capital of the Republic: Lima
Historical capital: Cuzco

Maps of Peru


It is located in the central and western part of South America, it limits to the north with Ecuador, to the northeast with Colombia, to the east with Brazil, to the southeast with Bolivia, to the south with Chile and to the west with the Pacific Ocean. The marine domain is called "Sea of Grau" (in honor of a Peruvian Hero Admiral Miguel Grau), reaches a distance of 200 marine miles from the coastline.


The Peruvian State has also affirmed its presence in the Antarctic like Advisory Member of the Treaty of the Antarctic.



The Peruvian territory possesses a great geographical contrast and presents three defined natural regions, parallel among each other from north to south.


The coast

Located to the west, it is a narrow fringe of desert, sandy and arid plains, with valleys oasis formed by rivers that go down from the Andes Mountains to the sea, and in these valleys big populated centers are located.


The Mountain

Also called Andean region is of uneven topography, it is formed by the Mountain range of the Andes, and is located between the coast and the forest; high mountains, deep valleys, plateaus. The highest pick in Peru is the Huascarán and it has 22,224 feet (6,780 m) above sea level.


The forest

Also called Amazonian, mountain or east, located to the east, formed by the oriental hillsides of the Mountain range of the Andes and extensive plains with exuberant vegetation and tropical forests. It is furrowed by numerous rivers, all tributary of the Amazonas River. The forest occupies more than 50% of the territory existing some zones that are in full discovery and investigation stage.



In the whole Peruvian territory rules the same hour, without hour change in any time of the year. 
The hour in Peru is -5 GMT (UT) 
Lima, capital of Peru, is located in longitude 77° west.



The Peruvian people is multi ethnic and has a pluralism of cultures, descendants of the Colombian cultures, the colonial miscegenation and immigrations.

The registered population (2007) is 28'220,764 inhabitants with an annual growth rate of 1.9%. The metropolis of Lima concentrates the 28% of population.


Geographical distribution of population

Lima department: 32.1% 
North and Central Andes: 19.4%  
North Coast: 16.9% 
Andean trapeze: 15.7% 
South Coast: 8.2% 
Forest: 7.7%


Ethnic people in Peru

Indians (Quechua and aimaras): 48% 
Mestizos (cholos): 32% 
White: 12% 
Black and mulattos: 6% 
Others: 2%



School, Primary (6 degrees) obligatory, Secondary (4 degrees) obligatory, and high school (2 degrees). Numerous technological superior institutes and 54 universities in the national environment with near 500 thousand university students give the superior education.

For more information and statistical data on the Peruvian population Instituto Nacional de Estadística e Informática (INEI).



The official language of Peru is the Spanish, and in the areas where prevail are also the Quechua, Aimara and other aboriginal languages.

English is a language that many people linked to the tourism sector dominate, and the tourist operators dominate other foreign languages, as German, French, Italian, Japanese, etc.



In Peru exist the freedom of credo or religion. The State recognizes the Catholic Church as an important element in the historical, cultural and moral formation of Peru, and lends its collaboration. The State respects other confessions.

The population in Peru is Catholic 89%, Evangelical 6.7% and other religions 2.6%.


Political system

According to the last Constitution of 1993, Peru is a democratic, social, independent and sovereign republic.

Its government is unitary, representative and decentralized, and is organized according to the principle of the separation of powers.


The Executive Power

The President of the Republic is the Chief of State and personifies the Nation, is chosen by direct vote and absolute majority. Their command is for 5 years. The President is accompanied by 2 Vice Presidents and the Council of Ministers. The President of the Republic is Mr. Ollanta Humala (July 2011 - July 2015).


The Legislative Power

It resides in the Congress, which consists of a unique chamber, and it is conformed by 120 congress members that are chosen democratically by a 5 year-period and their renovation coincides with that of the President of the Republic.

Beside them also exist the Judicial Power, The Council of the Magistracy, The Public Ministry, The Defense of the Town and the Constitutional Guaranty Tribunal.

The local governments are in charge of the Municipal Council, constituted by the Mayor and the advisors for each one of the county capitals and districts. They are chosen democratically every 5 years and they have political, economic and administrative autonomy in the matters that are of their competition.


Geopolitical division

Peru is divided in 24 departments and 1 constitutional province. 
Each department is divided in provinces, 189 provinces exist in the national environment. Each county is divided in districts, 1800 districts exist in the national environment (modernized in 1994).


The capital of the Republic of Peru is Lima.
The Historical capital of Peru is Cuzco.


Main cities of Peru:

Peru Travel Services:  Peru Vacation & Tours   I   Hotels in Peru   I   International Flights to Peru   I   Peru Domestic Flights   I   Peru Trains   I   Peru Buses   I   Peru Travel Services   I   Visa Offers   I   My Trip Plan   I   Testimonials

Travel Guides of Peru:  Peru Travel Guide   I   Arequipa   I   Ayacucho   I   Cajamarca   I   Chiclayo   I   Cuzco   I   Huaraz & Callejon de Huaylas   I   Ica   I   Iquitos   I   Lake Titicaca and Puno   I   Lima   I   Machu Picchu   I   Nazca   I   Paracas   I   Pucallpa   I   Piura   I Tambopata   I   Tarapoto   I   Tarma   I   Trujillo   I   Tumbes   I   The country-Peru   I   Ancient Treasures of Peru   I   Natural Wonders of Peru   I   Peru Outdoors   I   Peru Living Culture   I   Peru Bird-Watching   I   Inca Trail   I   Peru Photo Gallery   I   Maps of Peru   I   News & Events in Peru

Facts for the visitor to PeruAirports in Peru   I   Customs and baggage regulations in Peru   I   Currency an banking in Peru   I Driving in Peru   I   Electricity in Peru   I   Holidays in Peru   I   Languages in Peru   I   Taxes and Tips in Peru   I   Telephony in Peru   I Time in Peru   I   Tips for Travelers   I   Tourism Police in Peru   I   Vaccines for Travelers to Peru   I   Visa and Travel Documents   I Weather in Peru

About Us   I   Contact Us   I   Help   I   Terms & Conditions   I   COMELTUR

Welcome cards Payments by paypal